Workout Windup: Super Bowl Sadness + Running Success

Welp, I clearly went way too long since blogging last. Sorry! Work’s been pretty crazy and obviously I’m trying to fit all of my workouts in while maintaining some sort of social life. Clearly blogging fell by the wayside last week, but I’m ready to pick right back off where we left off. No excuses, right? (Now I sound like The Biggest Loser…)

By now basically everyone in America knows that the Giants won the Super Bowl against the Patriots. While I live in New York City, I am not a Giants fan. Nor do I like the Yankees. Quite the opposite actually. I’m a huge Patriots and Red Sox fan. My family is from New England and I just love both teams. It usually leaves me a little stranded when it comes to talking about sports at work, but such is life. At least I’m always game for a friendly wager, which clearly I lost this time around. I went from a happy, excited fan at the beginning of the game…

To a very sad fan by the end.

This was after the twenty or so heart attacks I thought I was having throughout the fourth quarter. No matter what team you root for, if you watched the game, you have to admit that it was excellent. By far the best Super Bowl I’ve seen in a while. And forget all you haters, I loved the Madonna half-time show. She has my heart forever. #likeaprayer

We had some yummy eats too, none of which were healthy. We whipped up a healthy chili in the crock pot, but didn’t want it by the time it was ready. Left overs! It’ll give me lunch at work for the rest of the week. #score (Clearly I’m on a hashtag kick right now. Please forgive me).

Anyway, we ended up munching on cheesy salsa bread that Dustin made and salsa dip that I whipped up. Again, not healthy. But do I regret it? Not even a little bit.

Yum.

Besides all the eating, lots of sweating happened this week. Not necessarily on Super Bowl Sunday, but still. Here’s how it all went down:

  • SoulCycle on Monday at 7 a.m.
  • Run 3 miles on Tuesday at 7 a.m.
  • Hot yoga at Yoga to the People on Wednesday at 6:30 p.m. Rest
  • Run 4-6 miles on Thursday at 6:30 a.m., strength train at 6:30 p.m. Run 5 miles
  • Rest on Friday Elliptical 23 minutes, strength train
  • Run 11 miles on Saturday Run 9 miles
  • Yoga DVD on Sunday Rest

So I failed on the yoga front, but did pretty good with everything else! I obviously modified things, but I fit everything in. And I’m fine with only nabbing 9 miles on Saturday. I worked hard for each mile and I had already increased my weekly mileage a decent amount. I’ll tackle a longer run on Saturday.

Speaking of, here’s what I have lined up this week. It’s another crazy week and I have a wedding to attend upstate on Saturday, so a hilly long run will be quite interesting. But it’s all about the positive thinking, right?

  • Rest on Monday
  • Run 6 miles on Tuesday at 7 or 8 p.m.
  • Yoga DVD on Wednesday at 7 a.m.
  • Run 4 miles on Thursday at 6:30 p.m.
  • Rest on Friday
  • Run 12 miles Saturday morning, dance the night away at Cayla’s wedding
  • Yoga DVD on Sunday or Rest

I know I’ve already knocked out Monday and Tuesday’s workouts, and it’s time for me to hit the hay so I can get in tomorrow’s. Good night!

What workouts do you have planned this week? And where can I find a dress for this wedding without breaking my bank account?!

Posted on February 7, 2012, in Uncategorized, Workout Windup and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I’m starting my Insanity workouts back up again! #excited haha I’ll jump on the hashtag train!

  1. Pingback: Workout Windup: Full Steam Ahead « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

