Workout Windup: Marathon Training Push

Good evening, friends! I hope you all had a great President’s Day yesterday. If you had the day off, I hope you enjoyed the long weekend and got some extra much-needed rest (it was much-needed for me, anyway). If you didn’t, I hope you were able to be super productive and knock a bunch of stuff off of your to-do list.

I’ve been knocking workouts off my to-do list left and right, pushing through marathon training to get to that fabulous day in Nashville. It’s sneaking up on me quickly and I am so excited. I love feeling my body get stronger and watching myself improve. It’s still crazy to think I’ll be able to run 26.2 miles in a little over 2 months, but it feels great to just let go and trust the process.

Here were my scheduled workouts for the last week, and how they all played out:

  • Meet with coach Abby for light work/evaluation on Monday
  • SoulCycle on Tuesday at 7 a.m., strength train at 6:30 p.m.
  • 4-mile tempo run on Wednesday at 6:30 a.m., hot power yoga at 6 p.m.
  • Rest Thursday
  • Run 1 mile, maintenance and upper body exercises on Friday at 6 p.m.
  • Run 14 miles on Saturday Run 10 miles
  • Run 3 miles on Sunday Rest

I skipped my upper body exercises on Friday because I’ve been fighting a cold this week and my body just didn’t want to do anymore. If I kept going, I would’ve half-assed the moves and I didn’t want to do that. So I saved them for another day, which ended up being Monday.

I had a really crappy run on Saturday and couldn’t get in a good groove for multiple reasons. My body couldn’t push out any more than 10 miles, and after beating myself up over it for a while, my run coach helped me chill out when she wasn’t pissed at me. My knee gave me a lot of trouble too, so I took Sunday as a rest day to elevate, ice, stretch and foam roll. My main goal for this week is to make sure I get in my Sunday run so my body starts getting used to running on fatigued legs.

Speaking of goals, here’s what I have lined up this week:

  • Run 4 miles and upper body exercises on Monday at 10 a.m. (woohoo, day off!)
  • Cross-train and lift on Tuesday at 6:30 p.m.
  • Run 1 mile warm-up, 4×800’s (with 400m jog in between) on Wednesday at 6:30 a.m.
  • Rest Thursday
  • Run 1 mile, maintenance and upper body exercises on Friday at 6:30 p.m.
  • Run 12 miles on Saturday + showing family all over NYC
  • Run 4 miles on Sunday + showing family all over NYC

Here’s to another great week of workouts!

What workout are you most looking forward to this week?

Posted on February 21, 2012, in Exercise, Goals, Uncategorized, Workout Windup and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

