Moments of Impact

Dustin and I went and saw “The Vow” on Sunday morning ($6 ticket if you go before noon at AMC theaters – holla!), and I really loved the film. Yes, it was a chick flick, but it wasn’t nearly as cheesy as others I’ve seen. Dustin even said it was a decent movie. As long as you go into the theater knowing that you’re going to see a chick flick, rather than some epic masterpiece, I think you’ll enjoy this movie 🙂

Source

But what I really loved most about it was the concept behind it. Right in the beginning, Channing Tatum does a voice-over and says this:

Life is all about moments of impact, and how they change our lives forever. But what if one day you could no longer remember any of them?

It really got me thinking, as I’m sure it did many others: what if I was the one to get into a car accident and when I woke up, I couldn’t remember anything from the last five years? That’s some scary stuff. So I took a trip down memory lane and really realized how much I’ve changed in five short years.

First of all, I would be just like Rachel McAdams (yeah, ok, Sam) and wouldn’t have any recollection of this guy.

Dustin and I met just under three and a half years ago, so if five years were gone, I’d be pretty scared waking up and seeing him by my side. If he told me we’d been dating for a little over three years and that we lived together, I’d likely laugh at him. Five years ago from today, I was dating my high school sweetheart and we’d been together five months. It lasted for eight months total, which was my longest relationship before Dustin. So I think it’s safe to say I’d freak out a smidge. Good thing he’s attractive (like Channing!) to put me a little at ease 😉

I’d also be a senior in high school again, and Lord knows I have no desire to go that far back in time. I grew up so much and experienced a lot in college; I would never want to lose that.

See, grown up 😉

If I were still a senior, New York City and the magazine industry would still be a distant dream, and I’d constantly be questioning myself, wondering if I could really make it.

I definitely wouldn’t be running, either. If my high school self met my today self on a random weekend for a long run, she would be huffing and puffing after two miles, cursing at me and saying, “What the efffff is wrong with you? You do this for fun?!”

And I never would’ve imagined running 13.1 miles would be possible, nor would I even dream of training for 26.2.

So many people would be missing from my life, too. People who have come to be my closest friends simply would cease to exist (to me). That’s completely crazy! My current roommates, college roommate, college friends, Nina, and countless other people would just not be around. I can’t imagine it.

And my family dynamic would have taken a huge step backward. My parents and I have gotten so much closer in the last five years, and so have my brothers and I. We’ve all learned more about one another than I ever thought would be possible, and the last few years have seen major growth. I don’t care to go back.

So it’s safe to say a lot would change if the last five years simply erased itself from my memory. Fingers crossed (and knock on wood) that it never happens. The beauty of the film, though? Paige and Leo fall in love all over again, proving their love can withstand anything. I love that it’s based on a true story…I hope we’re all able to find that once (or twice with the same person) in a lifetime love.

What would you do if you lost the last five years? How different would things be?

Posted on February 22, 2012, in Random Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ahhh! I now wish I hadn’t read this cause I haven’ t read the book or seen the movie yet and now I know the ending. Booo. LOL.

    Anyways, my goodness… 5 years ago…. seems like forever. I was done with college. Managing at Outback Steakhouse. Stressed to the max. Just getting out of a relationship with a super loser. Yeah… let’s not go back to that. 😛 Life is just SO much better now…. buying a house. making big business movies. tackling the internet marketing world like it’s nobodies business. yeah… I kick ass now. I was not so kick ass back then. 😛 Although I was thinner back then…. obviously because of the stress of my life then. Of course, waking up forgetting the last 5 years would mean that I was not thinner, but thought I was… and what a disappointment it would be when I went to my closet. LOL. Ok, I must get back to work. But I wanted to be the first poster cause I’m like your stalker. 😀 stalker with cupcakes of course.

  2. I have heard so many good things about this movie. I cannot wait to see it after reading your post. 5 years seems like a very long time now that I think about it!

Leave a Reply

