Gyro Goodness

Thank God for Pinterest, is all I have to say.

Source

It’s been a serious lifesaver when it comes to whipping up quick, delicious meals for dinner. Dustin pulls up my “Dinner Desires” page when he’s wondering what I might like because it’s already been approved! After a quick check of what ingredients we have on stock, we pull something together fairly quickly without any unnecessary nonsense. And that’s very important to someone who doesn’t really like to cook all that much. (If you’re a new reader, that’s me, not Dustin. Heh.)

So when Dustin and I were craving something Greek, I instantly went for these gyros. I made a few tweaks and came up with something magnificent.

Here’s how it all came together:

Chicken Gyros

Tzatziki sauce:

8 oz. plain Greek yogurt (I used Chobani)

1 regular cucumber, peeled and diced (you can seed it, but I didn’t…lazy)

1 teaspoon minced garlic

1 teaspoon alcohol-removed  chardonnay

Juice of one fresh lemon

Salt and pepper

Chicken prep:

2 teaspoons minced garlic

Juice of one fresh lemon

2 teaspoons of alcohol-removed chardonnay

2 Tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

4 oz. plain Greek yogurt (Again, I used Chobani)

Salt and pepper, to taste

1 1/4lbs. boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cubed

Other ingredients:

Whole wheat pita pockets

Fresh tomatoes, diced

Red onion, chopped

Directions:

Chop the cucumber in a food processor, or if you’re like me, just chop it up yourself. Wrap in a towel and squeeze to remove all excess water. Mix together all other ingredients for tzatziki sauce. Refrigerate for 30 minutes to an hour (I was about 40 minutes) before serving so all of the flavors can blend together.

Combine all of the ingredients for the chicken prep, except for the chicken. Mix well. Add chicken and coat well with mixture. Transfer to skillet, until chicken is completely done. Let sit for 5 minutes.

Heat pitas. Top with chicken mixture, tzatziki sauce, diced tomatoes and chopped onion. Serve and enjoy!

This definitely satisfied all cravings for a Greek dinner, and we had enough leftovers to turn it into a salad – I just dumped the chicken mix on top of a bed of spinach and added a dab of tzatziki sauce. Yum.

What easy dinner recipe are you loving these days? Feel free to send me links!

Posted on February 23, 2012, in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’ve never had a gyro. I must try this… sans the whole wheat pita. Lol. Looks yummy!

  2. Yum! I am a huge gyro fan!

  3. Mmmm! Looks amazing! I’ve been super lazy and just sautéing up whatever veggies I have in the fridge and topping it with hummus, soy nuts and nutritional yeast. Add some spice (I’m on a cayenne pepper kick…) and you’ve got yourself one easy but filling meal! I’ve also been making a lot of dishes with lettuce wraps now that I’ve decided to go gluten-free. Who doesn’t love finger food!? 🙂

  4. I’m stalking your blog now! Love it. I need to make these!!

Leave a Reply

