National Half Race Goals

Happy race day! It’s bright and early Saturday morning and I’m about to head out for the corrals. Yes, I’m crazy and posting nice and early before the race because I was way too tired to do so last night and I said you guys would get some goals. But first, let’s rewind a bit and talk about my trip down here.

I started off my day an hour earlier than usual so that I could get some work done at the office before heading out. Gotta meet those deadlines, baby! I had a delicious smoothie to power me through.

I didn’t get it from Starbucks, but I like my new tumbler. There’s raspberries, strawberries, a banana, scoop of whey chocolate protein powder, milk and a cup of Chobani passion fruit Greek yogurt in that little concoction. I had never tried the yogurt in there before and it was a nice twist. I liked the very tropical flavor to my smoothie, but it made me wish I was somewhere on a beach rather than in dreary New York.

After working for a few hours, I hightailed it to Port Authority and caught the Megabus down to D.C. We left on time, but unfortunately got stuck in traffic and got in an hour later than normal. Luckily, snagging a cab wasn’t too difficult and I ended up sharing a ride with Katelyn over to the expo. We had never met in real life before and chatted the whole way before realizing who the other was! Oops.

I nabbed my bib, checked in at my cute little Irish hotel (I’m in love with how quaint it is), and headed out to dinner with some more lovely bloggers. We had a fabulous time carb-loading. I had a big pasta dish with egg cheese sauce and a blue moon. Yum.

Now, let’s get to those race goals, shall we? As you all know now, I have tendinitis in my left knee, along with some scar tissue, and I recently decided to drop out of my marathon and race the half-marathon instead. While I would love to attempt to PR today, this was supposed to just be a training run for me. I think I’ll try to run a little faster than I would on a training run, but I have no super high expectations for this race.

Instead, I’m donning a super fun, super sparkly outfit and just enjoying myself. I haven’t been in D.C. in five years, so I’m excited to just run through the city and enjoy it on foot. Other than that, my only goal is to run as much as I can pain-free. If I start to feel pain, I’ll take it down a notch to see if it eases up. If not, then I’m going t suck it up and drop out. Maybe. That’s what my coach tells me to do. I’m going to do my best to listen to her.

And that’s all she wrote! Told you it was nice and simple. I’ll see ya from the finish line!

Posted on March 17, 2012, in Exercise, Goals and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I love your picture of us girls during freshman year of broomball! 🙂 congrats on the PR for the race, outstanding:)

  1. Pingback: Rock ‘n’ Roll USA Half-Marathon Recap « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

