After the Race

Once I crossed the finish line, I was all about refueling. Feeeeeeed meeeeeeee.

Dustin and I trekked back to the hotel, I showered, he watched the SU game and we checked out by 1pm. Our first stop of the afternoon: Pizzeria Paradisio, recommended by Emily.

Holy mother effing yum. Everything I had at this place was fan-freaking-tastic. My mouth is still watering just thinking about it. From the Dale’s Pale Ale that I started with:

To the bruschetta Dustin and I split as an appetizer:

And ending with the delicious individual-sized pizza (or at least individual-sized for an athlete) that I gobbled down in a hot minute.

It was all delicious and so, so good. The bruschetta had perfectly-ripe tomatoes and super fresh mozzarella, and the olive oil coating was so amazing. The pizza had a ton of delicious Parmesan cheese, the crust was the perfect amount of thin and fluffy (I opted for the whole wheat variety) and of course there was more olive oil to soak up. Seriously, just as Emily warned, it was love at first bite. I’m salivating right now.

You’d think after eating all that, I’d be done. But you’d be wrong. Because you can’t go to a new city without testing out their fro-yo. And since I’m a huge supporter of self-serve so I can pile on as many toppings as my heart desires, we walked around Dupont Circle until we arrived at FroZenYo.

While it was good, 16 Handles still holds the #1 spot in my fro-yo obsessed heart. The variety of toppings didn’t compare and the flavors were a little too sweet for my liking. Dustin, on the other hand, loved the flavors. He doesn’t like the options 16 Handles often has (because he’s crazy) and FroZenYo had all of his faves.

Did I finish mine anyway? You betcha.

We had some time to kill afterward and since we were sufficiently stuffed, we figured walking a bit would be good. Unfortunately, we had to carry all of our bags while we trekked across the city.

Yes, I always look this sexy while playing tourist, thankyouverymuch.

Dustin had never been to D.C. before, so we visited the White House so he could kill two birds with one stone and see the Washington Monument behind it. And since we didn’t feel like walking any more with our bags, we copped a squat in the little park by the gates and hung out for an hour or so. Which was perfectly fine by me since it was such a gorgeous day out. And ya know, my legs kind of wanted to relax.

Later we went to Rosslyn for a quick blogger meetup before catching our bus back to New York City. It was so fun to meet up with so many people, even though it was only for a few minutes, and match some awesome faces to their equally bomb-tastic blogs.

So yeah, it was a whirlwind 25 hours in D.C.! But I had a blast, grabbed a PR and had some of the most delicious pizza I’ve ever tasted. Weekend win!

Posted on March 19, 2012, in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I hungry and sore before from last nights workout but now i’m really hungry and sore uh! The banana and yogurt i brought for breakfast will be just a snack. Glad you had fun on your trip.

  2. Congrats to you! Next time I’m in DC I am going to have to try that restaurant.

  1. Pingback: Celebrating in Nashville « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

