Wonderful Weekend + Running Fast

I know it’s already Thursday, but I still have to talk about this weekend, mostly because when I think about it a huge smile plasters itself onto my face. Nothing super special happened, except that one of my favorite country girls made her way down for a visit.

Meghan is one of my closest friends and was my college roommate for three years. We met freshman year at orientation and ended up living right next door to one another. Soon after, a beautiful friendship was born (Cue movie music). We moved in together in different dorm rooms for sophomore and junior year, then got a house with another friend, Kayleigh, our senior year. Many, many memories between this girl and I. Many are not appropriate to share on the Internet either, so we’ll just skip ahead.

So Meghan is hard-core country girl. While I’m from the country and absolutely love my country roots, Meghan is a whole other story. She loves it all — contact sports (especially hockey), hunting, camo clothing, fishing, four wheeling, etc. That’s what makes her unique and one of the many reasons why I love her.

But she had never really been to the city. Sure, she came down for a Yankees game, but it was straight to the stadium and back. I was excited to show her my new home. We didn’t do a lot of the tourist-y stuff because she tore her MCL recently (ouch!) and I didn’t want her walking too much in the humongous brace she’s sporting these days. So instead we did things like…

Eat a big brunch and drink yummy, unlimited beverages with Libby and Dustin at MexiQ:

Get manicures (it was Meg’s first time, but look how unknowingly trendy she is! She’s on the right):

Celebrate International Wafel Day:

Play a lot of pool with Dustin and friends:

Get NYC-style pizza at John’s Pizzeria in Times Square (She also discovered the M&M factory). Of course I didn’t take a picture of the pizza, but I did get a shot of their pretty ceiling:

And unintentionally wear matching shirts from our jobs at the college fitness centers:

What? They make excellent pajamas.

So that’s the short version of my fabulous weekend. I was so happy she came by for a visit and only wish we had more time to hang out. Luckily, I’ll see her again in a few weeks! No more of this waiting 8 months in between visits anymore.

I also did some running and spinning. More specifically, I cruised through 8 miles on Saturday and a Broadway-themed ride at SoulCycle followed up with 16 Handles (duh)  with some wonderful blogging ladies. It’s pretty safe to say I had a great weekend.

So great, that I’ve decided it’s why I ran super fast last night (just go with the connection…). I had 6 miles of negative splits on the schedule. 1 mile warm-up, then 5 miles negative splitting :10 with each mile.

Here’s how it went down:

  • Mile 1 – 9:19
  • Mile 2 – 9:20 <– I’m blaming the uphill and absurd headwind that came out of nowhere
  • Mile 3 – 9:03
  • Mile 4 – 8:32
  • Mile 5 – 8:27
  • Mile 6 – 8:12
  • Quarter-mile cool-down and stretch

It’s not exactly what I was supposed to do, but I’m still pretty dang proud of that run. My legs felt light and I gave it all I had. And I ended up going faster than what the plan called for, so I still deem it a success. It has to be the wonderfulness from the weekend, right? Right?

If not, I’m blaming the socks.

Mismatched = speed. Science, right there.

And now you’re all caught up! Your turn: tell me what you’ve been up to lately and what fun plans you have coming up.

Posted on March 29, 2012, in Exercise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’m always in awe of anyone who can run a mile under 10 mins. Well, really anyone that runs a mile faster than my super slow behind gets major applause and props! Congrats! I now feel inspired to get my 7 mile run out of the way asap.

  1. Pingback: Thankful on Tuesday « Check My Pulse

  2. Pingback: I’m A Bridesmaid Again! « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

