Catching Up On Goals

One of these days, I’m going to get back to regularly scheduled blogging,  I swear. Between work, travel, physical therapy and training for a sub-2 half, my days have kept me busy and left me exhausted. But enough with the bellyaching, let’s get on with the show!

First of all, can you believe it’s already April 6?! Time is flying by and I can’t seem to make it slow down. But at the same time, I don’t want it to because that means we’re that much closer to summer! I’m so excited for the warm weather, happy people, bright colors and amazing plans that are coming to fruition. But when summer does actually appear, the clock needs to slow down. You hear me?

Regardless of how much I want to slow down, April is here and it’ll be gone before we know it. And it means that we’re already a third of the way through 2012! Phew! So I figured now was just as good a time as any to take a peek back at my 2012 goals and see how I’m faring. Join me, won’t you?

Source

Fitness

1.) Finish a marathon.

Obviously, this has not happened yet. Still up for debate on whether a fall 26.2 is in my future. I had to drop down to 13.1 for my original race in Nashville and am currently in PT rehabbing the snot out of my knee. I’m eyeing a few races in the fall, but still need to consult with my coach to see if this is something feasible to go after.

2.) Do yoga twice a week.

Ummm….yeah. About that. Yoga has gone missing from my life, again to my busy schedule. And because of physical therapy. I haven’t gotten the go ahead for it yet, but hopefully it’ll reappear soon. Then I’m going to aim for once a week and go from there.

3.) Be able to do 20 push-ups in a row.

I’m working on it! I can do them on my knees, heh. TWSS. Next step: move on up to my toes. I will get there!

4.) Run a sub-2:00 half-marathon

That’s the plan for Nashville! Coach Abby and my PT guys have been really pushing my body to get me into top shape to pull this one off. Fingers crossed I can check this off my list in three weeks!

5.) Run a race for charity

I have my eye on a certain race to do this for, it just depends on where I’m at with physical therapy. But it’s in the works! I’m determined to cross this puppy off before the end of the year.

So clearly I don’t have many things crossed off my list so far. Let’s hope it gets better with the second half…

Life

1.) Grow at my job

Check! I’m loving my job every single day and taking on more responsibility as I progress. I’m learning so much and I believe I’m doing well. The plan is to continue busting my booty so everyone falls more in love with me. And if they haven’t yet, make them. 🙂

With Mr. and Ms. Jay from America’s Next Top Model. I was ecstatic, not gonna lie.

2.) Volunteer at the Hope Lodge

I have it planned for this summer! It’s in my calendar and I plan to spend at least one weekend dedicating to helping out over there. Keep your eyes peeled for that experience. I know it’s going to be amazing. I’m also signed up for Relay for Life in my hometown on my mom’s team. I start fundraising soon and I’m so excited!

3.) Go on a cruise

It’s booked!! Bahamas, Dustin and I will see you in September for four nights. I’m stoked!

4.) Pay off X amount of student loans.

I’m working on it. In fact, I made another payment today. I’ve done some calculations and my mini-goal toward achieving this one is to pay off another one of my loans in full by the end of August. So far, I’m right on track. Boom!

5.) Get my personal trainer certification.

Must. Open. Books. Just do it!

6.) Read at least one book a month

Check! I read:

  • Violets of March by Sarah Jio in January
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern in February
  • Healthy Tipping Point by Caitlin Boyle in March
  • And I’m working on another book now, but it’s a secret.

Not to mention all of the magazines I read on a weekly basis 🙂

If you’re looking for my book recommendations, you can check out my list on Pinterest. But I think I’m going to start posting monthly book reviews as well, so we can dig a little deeper! After reading The Night Circus, I wanted to discuss it so bad with my college friends who took creative writing classes with me. Hopefully these posts will push them to talk to me more. (Hint hint, guys!)

All in all, I don’t think I’m doing too bad. I’ve been traveling a lot the past month or so and it’s been difficult to fit everything in, but I’m having the time of my life. I’ll be back Monday with my mini-goals for April. For now, I’m headed upstate for the weekend to celebrate Easter and this guy’s birthday:

Catch ya on the flip side!

Your turn: How are your goals for 2012 coming? Have you had to re-evaluate and set new goals? 

Posted on April 6, 2012, in Exercise, Goals, Racing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Wow… we have some pretty similar fitness goals for the year! I’m hoping to run my Fall marathon after having to sit it out last year due to injury. Take care of that knee & give it the time it needs to heal so you can come back strong! I’ve also gotten back into a healthy yoga routine for which I’m grateful. And I’m aiming to run a sub 2 half mary by the end of the year. Best of luck reaching your goals…I’ll be cheering you on!

  2. Better busy than bored, I guess! Got your sights aimed high – good luck!

  3. Umm, we so have the same goals! I have had to bow out of two full marathons, so I want to accomplish that, as well as run a sub-2:00! Wishing you the best! 🙂

  4. Great goals! I’m going to steal volunteering at the Hope Lodge and running a race for charity. 😛

Leave a Reply

