Bunny Butt Cake

I know it’s been a week since Easter for many people (seriously, time is flying by), but I live in Astoria where many people are Greek, which means they’ve been celebrating this weekend rather than last. So forgive me, but I’m still in the Easter mood and because I think the bunny butt cake I made at my parent’s house is so darn cute, I want to share the recipe with you.

My mom is big on baking and cooking, so once my plans to head upstate for the holiday were solidified, I knew we would spend quality time in the kitchen together. When I arrived, my mom had a slew of recipes she was ready to make, both healthy and not-so-healthy but oh-so-delicious. Remember, it was also my little brother’s birthday, so a celebration was in order! Craving sugar (the holiday candy definitely got the best of me this year), I took to some of my favorite blogs to see what I could contribute. The bunny butt cake was found on Julie’s blog; the original recipe found here.

After a quick scan through the ingredients, we realized nearly everything was in the pantry. A few change-ups were necessary, but I was preheating the oven and rippin’ open ingredients before I knew it!

Easter Bunny Butt Cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 box Betty Crocker SuperMoist white cake mix
  • Water, vegetable oil and egg whites called for on the box
  • 1 container Betty Crocker vanilla frosting
  • Red food color
  • Green food color
  • Shredded coconut
  • 2 strawberry taffy’s
  • 1 bag mixed jelly beans (to pick out the dark-colored ones)
  • Pink construction paper

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 325 degrees F. Grease 1 1/2-quart ovenproof (!) bowl and 3 muffin cups in a regular muffin pan with shortening; coat with flour (do not use cooking spray).
  2. Make cake batter as directed on box. Pour cake batter in 3 muffin cups, filling two-thirds full. Pour remaining batter into coated bowl.
  3. Bake cupcakes 20-23 minutes, bowl 50-53 minutes or until done (Quick tip: if you want to know if it’s done and don’t have toothpicks handy, lightly tap the center of the bowl/cups. If it bounces back up immediately, it’s done!) Cool 20-30 minutes.
  4. Spoon frosting into large bowl. Add a few drops of red food color and stir to make desired pink color (I used 3 drops). Take cake out of bowl and place on sheet tray upside down (the more rounded side should be face-up). Cover cake in frosting.
  5. Cover cupcakes in frosting, then use additional frosting to adhere cupcakes to bowl cake, making the tail and feet. You may need to use toothpicks to help keep in place. Freeze cake for 30 minutes.
  6. While frosting is setting, place desired amount of shredded coconut in sealable Ziploc bag. Add a few drops of green food color (I used 4 drops) to make desired shade for surrounding grass. Shake until thoroughly coated. In a second Ziploc bag, place more shredded coconut and add red color to make the same pink color as frosting. Shake until thoroughly coated. Set both bags aside.
  7. Take two taffy pieces and flatten with rolling pin. Carve out 2 large oval pieces and 6 small circles for the paws.
  8. Remove cake from freezer. Take bag of pink coconut and sprinkle contents over the cake, coating all visible surfaces and pressing gently to adhere. Take taffy pieces and lightly press into feet in the shape of the paws – one big oval per foot, three circles below the big oval.
  9. Sprinkle contents of green coconut around the cake to make grass. Cut two pink ears out of construction paper and use toothpicks to secure to cake. Pick out dark-colored jelly beans and place in between feet. Oops, your bunny had an accident! Enjoy!

It turned out delicious! Just to note, I followed the original recipe rather closely, but made adjustments to cut down on time. I also used egg whites instead of full-yolk eggs, and cut out the marshmallows that the original called for. I’d love to experiment next year to make a similar version from scratch, rather than having the mix come out of a box. But it was still mighty yummy! Extremely moist and the perfect balance of coconut. I took the feet and tail home with me and they were gone within the week! (Note: the grass coconut was just for decoration, so if you don’t care about that, feel free to leave it out. It just helps create the scene on the tray).

Did you make any Easter treats for the holiday? 

P.S. Congratulations to everyone who completed the MORE/FITNESS half-marathon this weekend! You rock!!

Posted on April 15, 2012, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I only bought my body weight in reeses product! NO lamby cake for me this year 🙂

  1. Pingback: The Day I Walked A Marathon: Relay for Life 2012 « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

