Thankful on Tuesday

Happy Tuesday! I’m not sure what the weather’s like where you are, but it is GORGEOUS here in New York City. I was out the door for physical therapy before 6:30 this morning and it was already 70 degrees out. Walking around sans jacket definitely put a little pep in my step and I am in a glorious mood. Funny how the weather can inspire such drastic mood changes in people.

The last few days, I’ve been taking the time to just be. How often do we do that these days? Definitely not often enough, especially when you live in a city that never sleeps and people are constantly on the go to get somewhere. So every once in a while, mostly when I’m outside in the sunshine, I remember to pause and just live in the moment that I’m in. And it’s been glorious.

Whenever I read Ali’s Thankful Things Thursday posts, I always get a big smile on my face and it sets me up for a good day. I don’t feel like waiting until Thursday, so I’m going to get my thankful on today. It’s Tuesday, so it still starts with a “T,” which makes it still cute-sy and stuff. Here we go!

I’m thankful for…

My running coach and physical therapist.

They’re both pretty rad. They know each other too, which makes things more fun. They talk about me when I’m not around. I’m not sure how I feel about that. Hopefully they say nice things. Even if they don’t, I’m still thankful for them. There’s no way in hell I would’ve gotten through this training cycle without them. Mentally, I’ve been beating myself up for a while and am totally checked out. I’m kind of ready for this race to just be here so I can be done with it. But more on that later.

Basically, if I didn’t have coach Abby to report to and Ken fixin’ me up twice a week, then I don’t think I would survive. They brighten my day and keep me from doing stupid things. They’re much smarter than me.

Dailymile.

I like that it tells me I’m “awesome” or “impressive” every Monday, despite how few miles I log on a weekly basis. It makes me feel better.

This weather. Because that’s a given. 86 degrees in mid-April isn’t typical, but I’m not complaining. Please stay forever, warm weather ❤

My job.

Even though some silly survey thinks that journalism is one of the worst jobs ever, I tend to disagree. Instead, I think Forbes did a pretty good job explaining how rad my career is. My favorite part? I’m constantly learning. I loved going to school and constantly absorbing new information (am I nerd?) and I get to do that every single day still. I also get to do super cool things and meet extremely interesting people on a daily basis. Win.

My friends.

A lot of them have come to visit since I’ve moved to this grand city and it means the world to me. My buddy Tim, from high school, came for a quick trip the other day. It had been a long time since I’d seen him.

Despite battling a nasty cold that I believe came from the oh-so-wonderful Dustin, we did a lot of walking on Sunday and fun shopping. He lets me dress him, which is very exciting. I think Dustin got jealous because he let me dress him, too. This is new. I like it.

I also got to dress myself in fun dresses suitable for this beautiful weather. This is my outfit today, for example, except I took this picture when I was in the dressing room over the weekend. Ya know, to make sure it looked cute.

But anyway, I really like my friends. They’re super cool. You should be my friend, too. We’ll have fun.

New York City.

It really is a beautiful place and I could not be more happy about living here. Last night I saw a movie with Libby, and as we walked home, we passed Lincoln Center and all of the beautiful fountains and structures that surround that area of town. So pretty and, even though a lot of people are busy, it was peaceful.

Going to school at Oswego.

Speaking of beautiful places, Oswego is definitely one of them. Even though I love this city, I can’t help but miss the college days when a warm-weather day like this one would mean a game of pickup soccer, relaxing by the lake listening to the guitarists play, a walk on the breakwall to reach the lighthouse, followed up with dinner at Rudy’s seafood and dessert at Bev’s ice cream. Apparently I’m not the only one nostalgic for my alma mater either.


Hole-in-the-walls.

Not actual holes in the wall because those aren’t fun, especially when it’s time to move out of your apartment and you have to either fix the hole or watch a big chunk of change disappear from your security deposit (Luckily, no said holes appear in my current apartment. Phew). But rather, little gems of a restaurant or bar that are tucked away in the city, not outrageously advertised but stumbled upon quietly. That happened this weekend when Tim, Dustin and I happened upon Chat ‘n Chew diner.

The atmosphere was quaint, the decor was cute and the prices were just right. The menu was limited, for sure, but I’m not one to complain. The grilled chicken sandwich was bomb-tastic. (Why do I say non-words like this? I don’t know.)

I could keep going, but this post is getting a little long. Just know I’m full of thankful today.

Your turn: tell me what you’re thankful for! I don’t care how big or how small, just tell me. You’ll feel better, I promise!

PS: I added a new page! Check out my personal bucket list, then tell me what awesome things you want to experience.

Posted on April 17, 2012, in Feel-Good Friday, Mental Health, Random Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’m thankful for:
    Nuun
    White wine
    Turkey burgers

    …it was one heck of a day. Despite INSANELY stressful (Shoveling lunch in my mouth at 2:15 for 5 minutes…) I’m thankful for my coworkers. Seriously. They make the stress bearable and, dare I say it, enjoyable 😉

  2. Seriously, having awesome co-workers is THE BEST. It can really make or break a work day. Mine are pretty rad, too. Hope you’re having a great week!

  3. I’ve always wanted to try Chat N Chew!!

    I’m thankful for Danny’s Soulcycle Class. Obvs.

  1. Pingback: The Day I Walked A Marathon: Relay for Life 2012 « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

