Fly For A Great Cause

Looking for a way to get your full dose of celebration on in honor of Cinco de Mayo, without quite as much guilt? I’m a big fan of Mexican food and we all know I love a tasty margarita, so I know for a fact I’ll be celebrating this weekend. But just like many others, I’ve been looking for an equally fantastic way to get my sweat on before I indulge, so the added calories don’t make as big of an impact. My ticket to the big show: Flywheel. And if you’re in New York City, you’re definitely going to want to get in on the action.

Source

As you all know, I’ve had a running coach for the past few months to get me through my spring training cycle. Even though she was originally hired (that sounds so weird, since she’s one of my friends, but it is what it is) to help me tackle a marathon, Abby modified my plans and stuck by me through all the craziness as I went after a half-marathon instead. My recap on Saturday’s race is coming your way tomorrow, but today I want to share a bit more about Abby and the awesomeness that surrounds her.

This is Abby. I stole this picture from her blog.

You see, Abby’s husband was deployed in the United States Marine Corp six years ago and she was by herself in the Big Apple. Looking for a way to to be productive, she signed up to run the Marine Corps Marathon and decided to raise money for a military charity while doing it. The winning charity? Fisher House Foundation, a charity that builds houses near military hospitals so that families of injured soldiers can stay for free while their loved ones are recovering. It’s a great organization, and 97 percent of the proceeds go directly to those who need it, rather than to advertising and administrative costs.

Fast forward to present day, and Abby is now planning to run the same marathon, but this time it will be her 10th race of that epic distance (wowzers!).The best part?  She’s still running for Fisher House and her husband will be running alongside her. Pretty sweet, if you ask me.

But what does this all have to do with Cinco de Mayo and getting your sweat on? I’m so glad you asked. This Saturday at 3pm, Abby and hubby will be hosting a charity ride at Flywheel and they want to see you there. Seriously, she’s one of the nicest people you can meet, so just go and get your daily dose of happiness.

But if that isn’t enough, there are some pretty sweet prizes being raffled off. Think Lululemon, NY Yoga, Erica Sara Designs and more. And I hear there’s going to be a sweet, rather tasty refreshment after the ride…

Anyway, if you’re interested in getting your sweat on with Abby, myself and a ton of other really awesome people, come to Flywheel on Saturday at 3pm. The proceeds go directly to Abby’s fundraising efforts for Fisher House Foundation (DOUBLE CHECK) and bikes are going fast, so nab one here before they’re gone. And if you do decide to go after reading this, make sure you say hi! I love meeting new readers. Who knows, maybe we’ll all go sip on a margarita (or two) after.

Ole!

Posted on April 30, 2012, in Exercise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. This is a really cool story and good to know! Hope it all goes well this weekend

  1. Pingback: Feel-Good Friday: Food and Friends « Check My Pulse

  2. Pingback: What Now? « Check My Pulse

  3. Pingback: Reviewing Resolutions « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

