Feel-Good Friday: Food and Friends

Happy Friday! I hope you’re all having a fabulous day and ready for the weekend celebrations. It’s been a rainy week here in NYC, but that hasn’t stopped me from getting my thankful on. Here are just a few things that have been making my feel extra fantastic this week.

Source

Cooking. That’s right, I’ve been doing it people. I’ve made three legit meals this week, which must be a new record. Dustin and I fell off of the cooking-at-home bandwagon with our crazy travel schedules, but we’re hopping back on now.

Kristin’s recipes have been a lifesaver, giving Dustin the not-healthy taste he wants with the nutrition boost we both need. Buffalo chicken quinoa was created one night and crock pot Santa Fe chicken another. Last night I made a turkey enchilada casserole following this recipe, and it tasted just as good today when it served as my lunch. YUM.

Physical therapy. I’ve been going religiously twice a week and it’s helped dramatically. I barely felt any knee pain during last weekend’s half, and the foot pain is getting better every day. After this week’s appointments, Ken says I should only need to come in for one more week before I can continue on my own. It’ll be a sad day, Ken, I know, but we can still be friends. I just don’t want to keep paying you to be my friend. 🙂

Cake. I wasn’t kidding when I titled this post with the word “food.” It’s FITNESS’ 20th anniversary this month (yay!) and we had a yummy cake in the office to celebrate. NYC friends, if you’re looking to quickly get a cake for a reasonable price, go with Buttercup Bake Shop. Super cute and super delicious.

Bloggers. There are so many of you out there, and I try to read as many as I can. You’ve given me some fantastic ideas for “what’s next,” especially because I’m not going to be hard-core running for a little bit. Stay tuned, folks, I promise you’ll find out soon.

Cinco de Mayo. I love Mexican food. It’s by far my favorite. I’m always in the mood for it. ALWAYS. Put a margarita next to it and I’m a happy girl. I even like to have it after I race half-marathons. But yeah, I’m celebrating this weekend. TBD which Mexican place will be hit up this weekend, so if you have suggestions, throw ’em at me.

Chocolate. I just have to talk about these delicious treats that Abby gave me as a post-race celebration. Holy yum. I don’t remember the name of them, though. Abby, help a girl out? I need to go buy some more.

Spinning. No, I can’t run right now (PT Ken says so), but I can still break a sweat. So my choice of cardio right now is Spinning. I actually just got done spinning, where I got my dance party on at SoulCycle with one of my fave instructors, Danny. And we can’t forget about the charity ride I’m doing tomorrow now, can we? It’s sure to be a sweat-tastic time, so if you’re in the concrete jungle, stop over at 3p.m. I’ll be nice and give you a sweat-filled hug. Pinky promise.

What’s been making you feel good this week?

Posted on May 4, 2012, in Feel-Good Friday, Random Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. They’re some fancy sea salt and chocolate combo I picked up at the Amish Market–they have such a great variety and soooo unique! Also, Buttercup is totally a favorite bakery of mine, too!

Leave a Reply

