Smoothie Roundup

I’m truckin’ along on my #smoothieaday goal this month, slurping down a hearty serving of fruits and veggies every day. But because I’m blending  up my meal every day, dumping the same thing into the blender can get really boring, really quick. So I’ve been a bit experimental in the kitchen lately and wanted to share my most recent recipes, in case you’re looking to change up your morning (or afternoon, or dinner….) routine. 

The Basics

  • Some type of frozen fruit (if it’s in season, I’ll buy it fresh and then freeze it myself)
  • Spinach
  • Chocolate whey protein powder
  • Almond milk
  • Orange Juice
  • Cocoa powder
  • Natural peanut butter
  • Chia seeds
  • Greek yogurt (I prefer Chobani)

I usually make sure I have all of the above in the house, then mix and match to whatever I’m craving that day. One of my favorites is in the picture above.

Berry Goodness

  • 1/2 cup blackberries
  • 5 large strawberries
  • 1/4 cup blueberries
  • 3/4 cup orange juice
  • 2 tsp. chia seeds
  • Handful of spinach

I noted above that I use frozen fruit –> I do this so that I don’t need to worry about making sure there’s ice in the freezer. It’s thick enough without it!

Some other tasty treats: 

Chocolate Strawberry Smoothie

  • 1 cup strawberries
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1/2 tsp. cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup almond milk 
  • Handful of spinach

Peanut Butter Raspberry

  • 1 cup raspberries 
  • 1 Tbsp. natural peanut butter
  • 1/2 tsp. cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup almond milk 
  • 2 tsp. chia seeds

Peanut Butter Banana

  • 1 1/2 bananas
  • 1 Tbsp. natural peanut butter
  • 1 tsp. cocoa powder
  • Handful of spinach
  • 3/4 cup almond milk

Strawberry Banana 

  • 1 cup strawberries
  • 1 banana
  • 1 6-oz. container of strawberry banana Chobani
  • 3/4 cup orange juice
  • 2 tsp. chia seeds 
  • Handful of spinach

Super citrus-y flavors don’t treat my stomach well, but you can always swap out my love of berries for pineapple or mango to make a lighter, beach-y smoothie. Other things I’ve learned to enhance my smoothie-making skillz: 

  • If you want a really creamy smoothie, add more banana. 
  • If you don’t like bananas, definitely add in the Greek yogurt. I’ve used crazy flavors, like apple-cinnamon Chobani with the peanut butter smoothies, and can’t taste the apple cinnamon. But it does make it much creamier. 
  • Other fruits, like apples, taste yummy, too. 
  • Don’t be afraid of the spinach. You really can’t taste it, I promise. If it’s on hand, toss it in. 
  • I know a lot of people toss avocado in, too. I haven’t tried this yet, but it’s an option!
  • Use orange juice or milk (I prefer almond) as your liquid base. Orange juice is a bit tangier,but still tasty. 

Your turn to share: What are some of your favorite smoothie creations? I still have 11 days to go! 

Posted on May 20, 2012, in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I LOVE my smoothies! My tastes are a bit different but I love berries too. I do all frozen fruit as well and I use a triple berry blend (raspberry, blueberry, blackberry), strawberries, and peaches if I have them. I then add a splash of water to loosen it up, and here are my two nutrition boosters: unflavored soy protein powder from Trader Joes and BlueBonnet Liquid Calcium + Vitamin D with natural strawberry flavor (you can find it at Whole Foods). I am lactose intolerant so I get my calcium from my smoothies and my protein powder is milk free as well. The only downside is that the sugar content is astronomical but because most of the sugar is fruit based, I don’t feel SO bad!

  2. All of those sound delicious! I’ve been looking for different smoothie ideas because I tend to always make the same (frozen berries, banana, berry yogurt, milk and yogurt). Time to start adding new things! 🙂

  1. Pingback: I’m getting off the sauce. « Danielle's Dish

  2. Pingback: Refreshing Fruit + spinach smoothie with no yogurt and no added sugar | f00dventures

  3. Pingback: Choco Latte Menthe with Berries and Flowers of the Rosemary and Mint. | Gold Within

  4. Pingback: Super Spinach Smoothie – Oh Joy! | recipe 2 recipe

  5. Pingback: Super Spinach Smoothie – Oh Joy! « jittery cook

Leave a Reply

