Somebody’s Gonna Miss You

This week is pretty insane, to say the least. Things are very busy at work, I’m moving to a new apartment throughout the week, I have various engagements every night and I’m going out of town for a wedding this weekend.

But the craziest thing is that this girl is leaving.

Karla is one of my favorite co-workers and after sitting with our desks right next to each other for the past year, we’ve gotten quite close. So much, in fact, that we’re often finishing each other’s sentences or jinxing because we’re just saying the same thing simultaneously. Cute stuff, I know.

But alas, New York is not quite her scene, and she’s heading back to the Midwest to be closer to her family and in an environment she’s more comfortable with. Although it sucks to see her go (she seriously is the nicest person in the world), I totally understand and respect her decision. But I expect plenty of visits!

Nonetheless, I’ve been devoting as much of my evening time to her as possible this week. As my Spinning buddy, we usually hit up one of Danny’s SoulCycle classes together. When I found out she was leaving, plans began to form and Danny and I secretly started planning a goodbye ride. My job? Get her there and bring the balloons. Done and done.

Although there was a brief scare because she was wait listed during sign ups on Monday.

Luckily, the Soul fairy sprinkled its dust and got us on bikes right next to each other before class began. Karla walked in, saw a bike pimped out with ribbons and blue balloons, and realized what we were up to. Especially when “Bye, Bye, Bye” started blasting overhead. Although I’m a BSB girl through and through, N*Sync has a special hold on K, so including the boys was crucial.

Danny took us through a fantastic class where we sweat a lot, smiled ear-to-ear, had water sprayed on us and then cried when  Rihanna’s “Farewell” came on near the end. Damn that song is emotional. It was such a great way to send our girl back to the Midwest.

Then we met up with our co-worker, John, to chat about life and enjoy some adult beverages.

What a bunch of cutie patooties those two are.

Then we spun again today. But this time, Ali came along for the ride. We’d been trying to make a date for a while now, so it was perfect timing that this finally came to fruition. It was now or never not until next time she’s in town!

We took Parker’s class, which was a first for all of us, and while it wasn’t “OMG holy sweatiness that was unbelievably fantastic,” we left with a good layer of sweat and smiles. And then we ate 16 Handles. Obviously.

I forgot to take a picture. Bad blogger.

Tomorrow we’ll have a final sendoff for this girl after work and I’m pretty excited. It still hasn’t quite hit me that she’s really leaving. We’re gonna miss you, K, but I’m just telling myself that September will be here before you know it!

 

Posted on June 27, 2012, in Exercise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You are WAY to sweet, Sam. I don’t think I deserve the amazing outpouring of love I’ve received this week… With your crazy schedule, you really didn’t had to dedicate this much time to hanging out and organizing things, but that’s just how amazing you are. It is such a treat to be your deskmate and I will miss you so, so much!! (But you know we will be chatting and I will be visiting often.) xoxoxo

  1. Pingback: 12 Photos for 2012 « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

