Healthy On the Go

Ever since the last weekend in June, I’ve been traveling every single weekend. First things first, I’ve moved apartments!

Dustin, Libby and I still live in the same area, just a smidge closer to Manhattan. But man, it was quite a trip getting us from point A to point B. After working a crazy week, we moved boxes and furniture on the last Friday of June until 2:00 a.m. We grabbed a quick cat nap for three hours, got up and cleaned our old apartment until 8:30, then hightailed it over to Enterprise so we could exchange cars. Swapping the moving van for a car was a breeze because of Dustin’s job, thankfully, and we were on the road by 9:00 a.m. to drive upstate six hours for a wedding.

The wedding was TONS of fun – I loved watching Dustin’s entire family boogie down on the dance floor after his cousin tied the knot. Everyone was super sweet, and I really feel like I’m becoming part of the family. I love them all!

After staying up entirely too late (we made it to 2:00 a.m. again!), we crashed in the hotel, then hit the road by 11:00 a.m. on Sunday to make the trek back. Whirlwind weekend, that’s for sure!

Fourth of July came and went, and Dustin and I kept things simple – we unpacked more, bought an AC and hit the movie theater because it was 1,000 degrees outside. Then last week, we packed up again and headed to Boston!

As a devoted Sox fan, I’ve been dying to go to Fenway for a game this season. Since Dustin is a Yankees fan (boo!), obviously we decided to nab tickets for a game with both our teams. People may think we’re crazy, but I love that our teams are huge rivals. Provides some friendly competition and keeps things interesting, if you ask me!

So that brings us to the present. I have this weekend off (phew!) and then I’m busy for every weekend through the end of August. Yes, my summer is quite packed. I’m not sure what I was thinking when planning it all. I guess the words “no” and “relax” decided to disappear from my vocabulary. Oh well, I’m young! Now’s the time to make some badass memories, right?

Anyway, with all of this traveling, it’s been crucial for me to plan ahead to a.) keep my sanity b.) keep my workouts in check and c.) not go crazy on food when it often feels like “vacation mode.” I don’t know what it is, but when I’m gone for the weekend, I always feel the urge to just let all  my healthy-eating tendencies go out the window. Luckily, I’ve mastered a few tricks to help keep my waistline in check:

  • Packing snacks. It sounds simple, but it can be easily forgotten. And when you’re spending so much time in a car, the fast-food stops start to look extremely convincing. Don’t fall for it. Case in point: The one time I didn’t pack a snack, we desperately stopped for McDonald’s. It was my first time eating the stuff in nearly three years. I was sick for the rest of the night. Lesson learned: easily packed snacks like string cheese, pop chips, granola bars, cereal and veggie sticks are the way to go. I love bringing carrot sticks.
  • Eat off smaller plates. For me, portions are a huge struggle. I live with a boy who eats a ton and doesn’t gain an ounce. For a while, I fell into the trap of eating the same amount as him. NOT GOOD. Now he eats off big plates, while I find a small one – usually a dessert plate – to eat my meals off of. I see a full plate and feel satisfied when it’s finished. If I ate the same amount on a big plate, I’d feel deprived.
  • Drink water. Having at least two bottles in the car keeps us from picking up sodas (him) or chai lattes (me) during the travel portions of our trips. And at long events, like the wedding, I alternated a glass of wine with a glass of water. Drinking less booze = no hangover = happy Sam. Plus it always allowed me to have a drink in my hand, so I didn’t feel weird when everyone else was sipping on something.
  • Get active. You don’t necessarily have to do a planned workout. Incorporate exercise into your day! At the wedding, I busted a groove and danced the night away for at least four hours, if not more. Did I feel like I was working out? Not a chance. In Boston, we opted out of a cab and explored a big portion of the city on foot. Way more interesting. And for long road trips, stop every two to three hours and stretch! I have to do this because of my blood disorder (can’t stay seated for more than two hours because it increases my risk of developing a blood clot), and I like looking for scenic overlooks or grass-y rest stops to stroll around for just a few minutes.
  • Indulge a little. Because seriously, life is way better when Fenway Franks, wedding cake and ice cream from a baseball helmet are involved 🙂

And there ya have it! These may not be genius, innovative tips, but a friendly reminder every once in a while never hurt anyone.

Now you share your secrets: what are your go-to’s for busy travel days?

Posted on July 11, 2012, in Exercise, Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Wow, your summer is packed! I feel really lucky that I get to see you this weekend – it’s going to be a good one 🙂

  2. Your five tips for staying healthy while super-busy (like you have been) are awesome! Toting your own snacks can be a lifesaver on long trips. Mmm…PopChips! Another important health focus for hectic times, in my opinion? Getting enough sleep! 😉

  3. Planning ahead for sure. I have to pack everything the night before. And snacks. I need plenty of snacks!

  4. Love your tips! My tip start every meal with a fruit or vegetable. That baseball game looks like it was a blast!!!

  1. Pingback: Hiking Hawk Mountain « Check My Pulse

  2. Pingback: 12 Photos for 2012 « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

