Grateful for Oswego

It’s safe to say that these last two weeks are ones that won’t be easily forgotten. Sandy ripped through NYC and changed many people’s lives, and it’s going to be a long time before we’re back to “normal.” I give major props to Mayor Bloomberg and the NYC companies, though, who have worked tremendously hard to help this grand city bounce back quickly and safely. And as I said in my last post, this community is amazing. I’ve never been more proud to live in the city that never sleeps, and I hope the rest of the country realizes how much we all care about one another.

Since Sandy hit land, I’ve had a lot of time to think. The main emotion coursing through my veins? Gratitude. I am so grateful for so many things. I have a great job, live in a wonderful city, have amazing friends, a kind, loving family, a roof over my head. I could go on and on, but I imagine you don’t want to hear about every tiny thing I’m grateful for. There really are a lot.

One thing I’m really grateful for? My education. I went to college upstate at SUNY Oswego and really bonded with a lot of people there. I know I can say with complete confidence that there’s no way I would be where I am today, doing what I’m doing, if I hadn’t gone to school at the little college on Lake Ontario. It was truly the perfect fit for me and I look back on every memory I made with nothing but pure happiness.

Last weekend, I was fortunate enough to head back up to Oswego for three days. But not just for any ole’ visit – I was officially invited back by the college as a guest speaker for the creative writing Living Writers Series class. To me, this is EPIC.

I remember when I took that class during my sophomore year of college and fell in love. I was already thoroughly immersed in my college experience and loved all of my classes, but LWS took the cake. I loved meeting people who were successful in my chosen fields, and I loved that their experiences spanned over so many different genres. I remember telling my friend that it would be so cool to come back one day as a guest speaker myself.

Little did I know I’d be asked back a year and a half post-grad! And let me tell you, they welcomed me back with open arms.

The topic for my presentation was about how I went from “Subscriber to Staffer” at FITNESS, so I talked a lot about my experiences in college and how the steps that I took back then really helped me succeed once I graduated and land my dream job. I spoke for about 40 minutes, then opened it up to Q&A for a half hour. Let me tell you, students have a lot of questions!

I couldn’t have been happier. I really had such a great time speaking with the students, answering questions, telling stories and basically just telling them what I did so they can think about stuff to do while they’re still in school. I guess I’m a role model now. I can dig it. I mean, they took me out to dinner. Free food = Sam is there.

I got to reunite with a bunch of friends who are either just finishing up school now, or randomly happened to be in town the same weekend I was, too. It was a big mix of fate with a smidgen of planning, which made for one hell of a reunion weekend.

I got to meet up with a ton of people who I haven’t seen in a very long time, which gives me all sorts of warm and fuzzy feelings.

Anyway, I’m just feeling very, very grateful these days. I’ve had such a blessed life and I wanted to gush about my school for a bit. And since this is my little space on the Internet, I can do it 🙂

Oh, and for those of you who followed my Facebook and Twitter feeds, you know I nabbed a PR at the Disney Wine and Dine half-marathon this weekend! I promise to be back with my race recap and thoughts on Disney races in general. Right now, I hear a foam roller desperately calling my name…

Now it’s your turn: tell me one thing you’re grateful for these days!

Posted on November 11, 2012, in Random Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

