Christmas Survey

Merry Christmas Eve Eve! I’m home at my mom and step dad’s for the holidays, the snow is falling steadily and my mom and I have epic plans for baking this afternoon. I could not be happier right now.

christmas

Since I likely won’t be blogging tomorrow or on Christmas, I thought it’d be fun to do the Christmas Survey I saw over on Carrie’s page. Away we go!

Favorite Christmas album/CD: 

It honestly depends on my mood. It’s a tie between Glee Christmas (the first album), Michael Buble’s Christmas and anything by the Trans-Siberian Orchestra. Also, if you haven’t been to one of Trans’ shows, I highly recommend it. The pyrotechnics alone make it well worth it.

Run on Christmas morning or take the day off? 

I won’t run in the morning,since we always open our gifts and eat breakfast together first thing. I’m not opposed to taking a jaunt in the afternoon, though.

What do you usually eat on Christmas morning? 

Breakfast casserole made by my mom (also known as company eggs casserole, I guess). This could also be described as “heart attack in a pan.” So good, but we only have it once a year. #noregrets

Favorite holiday or Christmas tradition?

Every Christmas Eve, my family attends evening church service; then we come home and all watch Annabelle’s Wish together. That adorable cow makes me cry every single year.

Annabelles_Wish-vhscover

Real tree, fake tree, or no tree? 

Real tree all the way. I think my mom tried to get a fake tree one year when we were really young, and it just wasn’t the same. I need the smell that a real tree brings.

Christmas pajamas – yay or nay? 

We never had them, but I’m certainly not opposed to the idea! We do always stay in our pajamas for the majority of the day, though.

Where do you spend the holidays? 

Christmas Eve and Christmas Day is spent with my mom and step-dad. Then I usually meet up with Dustin’s family the day after Christmas because his birthday is on the 27th. This year, we fly to Tennessee on the 28th to spend New Year’s with my dad and step-mom, too. We were lucky to get enough time off to see everyone this time around!

Food that you always have during the holidays? Favorite Christmas food/treat? 

I always make peanut butter kiss cookies (some of you call these peanut butter blossoms, which I don’t understand), my mom always make snowman balls, and my little brother always makes sugar cookies in the shape of Winnie the Pooh characters. We like cookies in our house.

gingerbread house

This is not any of those. But my cousins made it, so I think it’s relevant.

Open presents all at once or take turns?

Well, we’re all opening them at the same time, but my mom hands them out (with her Santa hat on), staggering the distribution so everyone gets to watch what the others are opening.

Favorite Christmas(ish) movie? 

Annabelle’s Wish. It’s tradition. And it’s the best movie ever made.

Your turn! Answer any of the questions above so I know all of your Christmas secrets! 

Posted on December 23, 2012, in Entertainment, Random Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Merry Christmas all! OK, here goes – my favs are:
    1. CD – Tough one as I have a slew of Christmas music – Trans-Siberian Orchestra with the Nutrocker still #1 this year. Favorite song – O Holy Night.
    2. Run on Christmas – I don’t run. Easy.
    3. Christmas morning breakfast – the “breakfast casserole” that is worth every calorie!
    4. Favorite holiday tradition – Candlelight service at church with the family, coming home and watching Annabelle’s Wish.
    5. Real tree – we have considered an artificial but the real one is still our top pick.
    6. Christmas PJ’s – have a snoopy pair 🙂
    7. Spend the holidays at home where the kids gather and we all enjoy time together.
    8. Food – there’s always plenty of it. Treats are cookies, fudge, coconut chocolates, and all the traditional favs for dinners leading up to and after Christmas.
    9. Presents – Christmas morning, kind of all at once with pauses to watch each other’s smiles.
    10. Annabelle’s Wish – hands down. My mom gave me this movie a long time ago and it captured my heart immediately.

    Be blessed everyone!

Leave a Reply

